Begin typing your search above and press return to search. Press Esc to cancel.

Basement Sessions Vol.1


Kullhammar / Aalberg / Zetterberg

Espen Aalberg (d), Jonas Kullhammar (sax), Torbjörn Zetterberg (b),


Also Available on iTunes



The saxophone trio format (sax + bass + drums) goes back to the Fifties and hard bop. Very specially, to the Sonny Rollins trios with this instrumental configuration. When every tenor sax player is in some way connected to the John Coltrane’s legacy, Jonas Kullhammar main reference is the other protagonist of the “sheets of sound” playing approach. Another big influence we can recognize in the Swedish musician is the one coming from Charles Brackeen, one of the inventors of the Sixties “new thing”. This trio with Torbjorn Zetterberg and Espen Aalberg can seem, in a superficial audition, somewhat old fashioned, but it’s something else what is really in question with this first volume of the “Basement Sessions”: authenticity. This is music coming from a specific tradition and it’s totally committed to it. Zetterberg and Aalberg can walk other paths in their own projects, but here they’re one with Kullhammar in the purpose to take hard bop out of the museum.



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Basement Sessions Vol.1”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.