Spiritual Archives Best 0f 2010 List

New edition of the “Best Of The Year” list. What follows is a selection (according to the tastes of this blog), as accurate as possible (no pretense of completeness), obtained from thousands of albums listened to in 2010.
It includes music of different (in some cases quite distant) areas: minimalism, modern jazz, radical improvisation, ambient, works built on field recordings, folk and so on, with the intent of searching for innovative features or strong emotional reactions every time we deal with a new release.
Most of the labels mentioned in previous posts are represented, there’s also a large number of highly esteemed composers / (sound)artists / improvisers.
As usual, if you want to make your preferences known, use this email address: ucro23(at)gmail(dot)com
Thanks for your interest.

Alphabetically sorted…
Alípio C Neto & Thelmo Cristovam – Triatoma Infestans (Creative Sources)
ANBB – Ret Marut Handshake (Raster-Noton)
Anne Guthrie – Standing Sitting (Engraved Glass)
Ap’strophe – Corgroc (Another Timbre)
Arkhonia – Trails/Traces (White Box)2
Baby Dee – A Book Of Songs For Anne Marie (Tin Angel Records)
Ballister – Bastard String (PNL Records)
Ben Owen – 05012009 FP (Self-released)
Boris Hauf & Adam Sonderberg – Schamlos 0202 (Homophoni)
Celer – The Die That’s Caste EP (CONV)
Christopher McFall – The Body As I Left It (Sourdine)
Dawn Of Midi – First (Accretions)
Decoy & Joe McPhee – OTO (Bo’Weavil)
Eleh – Location Momentum (Touch)
Eric La Casa – W2 [1998-2008](Herbal International)
Ernesto Diaz-Infante / Manuel Mota / Gino Robair / Ernesto Rodrigues – Our Faceless Empire (Pax Recordings)
Fabio Orsi – Winterreise (Slow Flow Rec)
Francisco López – Amarok (Glacial Movements Records)
Graham Lambkin & Jason Lescalleet – Air Supply (Erstwhile)
i8u – 29 Palms (Dragon’s Eye Recordings)
Isaiah Ceccarelli – Bréviaire D’épuisements (Ambiances Magnétiques)
Ivo Perelman / Daniel Levin / Torbjörn Zetterberg – Soulstorm (Clean Feed)
Jason Ajemian’s Daydream Full Lifestyles – Protest Heaven (482 Music)
Jemeel Moondoc – Muntu Recordings (NoBusiness Records)
Kevin Parks & Joe Foster – Acts Have Consequences (Self-released)
Kyle Bobby Dunn – A Young Person’s Guide To Kyle Bobby Dunn (Low Point)
M. Bassett & J. Gräf – Peradam (Utech Records)
Magda Mayas – Heartland (Another Timbre)
Michael Pisaro & Barry Chabala – Black, White, Red, Green, Blue (Voyelles) (Winds Measure Recordings)
Michael Santos – Memory Maker(Home Normal)
Moniek Darge – Crete Soundies (Kye)
MUTA – Bricolage (Al Maslakh)
Nicholas Szczepanik & Juan José Calarco – Lack Affix (Unfathomless)
Nos Phillipé – Nos Phillipé (Black Atlas)
Nurse With Wound & Larsen Featuring Fritz Müller – Erroneous: A Selection Of Errors (Important Records)
offthesky – Du Soleil (Resting Bell)
Olivia Block & Kyle Bruckmann – Teem (either/OAR)
Pascal Battus & Christine Sehnaoui Abdelnour – Ichnites (Potlatch)
Paul Dunmall & Miles Levin – Miles Above (Duns)
Pjusk – Sval (12K)
Rafi Malkiel – Water (Tzadik)
Richard Chartier – A Field For Mixing (Room40)
Scott Colley – Empire (CAM Jazz)
Seth Nehil – Furl (Sonoris)
Sohrab – A Hidden Place (Touch)
Stasis Duo – Stasis Duo (L’innomable)
Stephen Cornford & Samuel Rodgers – Turned Moment, Weighting (Another Timbre)
Sylvain Chauveau – Singular Forms (Sometimes Repeated) (Type Records)
Thierry Lang – Lyoba Revisited (ACT Music)
VV.AA. – Physical, Absent, Tangible (Contour Editions)
Xavier Charles – Invisible (SOFA)
Yannick Dauby – Overflows (Sonoris)
Zed Trio – Lost Transitions (Ayler Records)


Add yours

+ Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.